metaversemina

Just another virtual world traveler… though quirkier than most!

I Just Wanna Dance With the One That Brung Me.

I’ve been in OSGrid for about a month now, give or take a week or two (time seems to slip between my fingers without my noticing). I love the freedom to do as I please, build with as many prims as I see fit, and squat on a region (or three) on my good friend’s server. All for free. Tis’ truly a beautiful thing. Oddball O’Toole warned me that this could lead to an addiction, and I couldn’t turn back now if I wanted to!

One of the things I love most about OSGrid is the people. I touched on the social aspect of the grid about a week ago when I wrote about the fun D&J Friday dances that are held each week. This past week we held an impromptu Load Test Party on one of Linda Kellie’s regions that is hosted by Keyland. It’s a little something we do about once a week on the fly and it serves double duty. We get to test out the cojones of the region we’re on, AND we get to have a good time laughing, joking around and seeing friends old and new! It’s truly a great little tradition we’ve started and one that I hope will continue.

I Wanna Dance w/Somebody!                  Load Test Party Peeps Line Dancing!

On occasion, we have been known to blast some tunes and try to get our dance groove on. “Try” being the operative word in that sentence. It seems that animations have a mind of there own, and their mind is that of a 15 year old girl with hella PMS. Let me try and explain:

John and Mary want to dance.
John drops a couples dance ball.
John resets the scripts in the dance ball.
John and Mary click on the dance balls.

Here is where it gets flakey…

Sometimes John and Mary can see each other dancing and have a wonderful evening tripping the light fantastic… whatever that means.


Sometimes John sees Mary dancing, but sees himself sitting like a bump on a log. Sometimes vice-versa.
Sometimes people in the room see them both dancing, when they can’t see themselves dancing at all.


Sometimes they see themselves dancing and no one else can.

Are you catching my drift?

Relogging, clearing cache, etc. sometimes helps, but sometimes not. You can see how this can lead to a frustrating evening, can’t you? Now imagine John and Mary wanted to have a *coughs* romantic evening at home with their MLP… ahem… quirky animation behavior could kill the mood quite nicely, don’t you think?

So here is the question I am putting forth to you, OSGrid and OpenSim residents and developers alike. Why does this happen? What is the cause? Can it be fixed? I look forward to your replies!

Additional Info:
You can join our load test party group by joining the Load Test Party Peeps group in my OSGrid profile (Mina Catesby).
More feedback on this issue here: OSGrid Forums

2 comments on “I Just Wanna Dance With the One That Brung Me.

  1. Linda Kellie
    March 29, 2012

    I think I know John and Mary. Nice people but they dance weird.

  2. metaversemina
    March 29, 2012

    Poor things have 2 left feet, yeah?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 29, 2012 by in OpenSim, OSgrid, OSgrid Events.

Navigation

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

Randomness on the Twittersphere

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

