metaversemina

Just another virtual world traveler… though quirkier than most!

A Call to Action for OSGrid Creators!

Call to Action for OSGrid CreatorsI know what you’re probably thinking, “that Mina sure has a lot a nerve giving US a call to action!” After all, I am the new kid on the block. However, being the new kid, perhaps I can shed some light on a few things that may be overlooked by those who have been on the grid a long time. You know what I mean? When we are around a while, we get used to the status quo and find comfort in it. Sometimes we forget what it was like to be “the new kid” and it takes a shiny young (well young to the grid anyways) whippersnapper to remind us of a few things. Now, I’m not talking about things that will end world hunger, or that will even put a little “oomph!” back into the economy. I’m just talking about ways that will make our lovely grid just a little more enjoyable. So, I put forth to you, creators, a small call to action! (By small I mean, teeny, tiny… minuscule even. Will take all of 5 minutes, then POOF! You’re done!)

Mina’s Challenge to All OSGrid Creators (All OpenSim Hypergridders Welcome!)

And… the challenge is… <insert requisite drum roll here> become more active in the OSGrid Forums! Yep. That’s it. See? Easy peasy, right?!?! Here is how I see it, we create things to share with the rest of the grid, correct? We take considerable time and effort to package up our items and set them out where they can be freely perused by our fellow residents. Here’s the rub, no one can partake of your super awesome offerings, if they can’t find them. Are you following me here? As far as I know there is no centralized listing of shopping regions, and, even if you post in classifieds, sometimes search doesn’t function right. (I seem to have a bad case of that with Imprudence where when I open search, I crash…perhaps it’s a Mac thing?) So it’s really kind of like that whole, “if a bear poops in the woods” thing or is it, “if a tree falls in the woods?” ‘Erm..whatever.. anyways… So, all I am asking is that, those of us that create things, go ahead and post a little something in the OSGrid Forums under Region Showcase (please use the Classifieds section if you are actually going to list an advertisement) letting people know where (and when if your regions aren’t always up and running) other residents can come by and shop to their little hearts content!

Are you with me?! Can I get a fist pump and a “hell yeah?!” No? Ok well… as long as you post. 😉 Meet you there!

17 comments on “A Call to Action for OSGrid Creators!

  1. Linda Kellie
    March 14, 2012

    I normally stay away from forums because I tend to find drama there. But I am going to answer your call to action and post in the region showcase. I think that with search being a good tool but not totally functional yet that we do need a place to find things. The wheels in my head are spinning now thinking that maybe I should make a webpage in different categories where I could list all the cool places I find when I am out exploring. I’ll have to think on that.
    So Mina, your message has been heard and I will do what I can to get the word out. And hopefully others will as well.

  2. Gaga
    March 14, 2012

    Excellent idea Mina!

    • metaversemina
      March 14, 2012

      Thanks Gaga! 🙂 I can’t wait to discover some new places.

  3. foneco zuzu (@ZZBottomHL)
    March 14, 2012

    I have to agree with MIna, if not for a forum i would never realized that Second Life was much more then a social aplication and Open Sims existed!
    So already placed my humble PG sims location on there!
    Placed a few prims any can get with my founds around the grid of skins, eyes and all that i think can create a female avatar as good as any Second Life one.

    • metaversemina
      March 14, 2012

      Wonderful Foneco!! I can’t wait to see what you’re sharing. 🙂 Thanks so much for the comment and the action!

  4. metaversemina
    March 14, 2012

    I’m glad you joined the movement Linda! *lol* I think that it would be fabulous to have a centralized listing. I wonder if ana from inbiz would be interested in scripting something for OSGrid?

  5. I use the forums pretty often, have 2 regions in the Region Showcase area (Hannaghbha and The Guitar Museum). And they do attract folks to the regions after I place a new thing in one of the threads (Which I should do more often btw)
    So it is a pretty good place to start advertising your regions.

    The region Showcase is not really the place to advert your shops/stuff though, I think the admins want us to use the Classifieds Thread. (http://forums.osgrid.org/viewforum.php?f=22&sid=3291875543795786f0889b0c0d8434bd)

    A central place with the a lot of cool regions is already available here: http://oliveira.eti.br/osgrid-sims.php or for hypergrid here: http://www.hyperica.com/

    But to find, or get to know, the really cool builds/regions/whatever, people do need to be more active on the forums, or even in-world! Who knows how many beautiful gems we are missing!

    Oddball Otoole

    • metaversemina
      March 14, 2012

      Hi there Oddball! Thanks for the comment. Good advice, I will go ahead and edit the post to reflect that. I was going by the description of the Region Showcase – “This area is for Region Showcasing, if your offering freebie stores, or classes or you just want to do a write up on your own sim or even others sims on OSGrid, please keep it clean and respectful, do not post complaints here. Also no selling here please, the goal of OSGrid is to keep an Open and Free Community.” – but clearly classifieds seems like a better place if you are going to add updates.

      I will definitely check out that website, it sounds like a great place to supplement my exploration LM stash. 🙂

      So nice to “meet” you Oddball, I look forward to running into you inworld.

  6. Ener Hax
    March 15, 2012

    waaah, your blog won’t let me comment with my gravatar account w/o logging in =(

    here’s what i wanted to say: great idea!!! knowledge is power and power is growth!

  7. Ener Hax (@iliveisl)
    March 15, 2012

    this is such a great idea – knowledge is power – the power to build more and grow larger, thank you Mina, this is a really wonderful idea! =)

  8. metaversemina
    March 15, 2012

    Thanks Ener! Speaking of knowledge, I have heard that I can hook up my sim-on-a-stick to OSG. I may be picking your brain about that one! 🙂

  9. Pingback: making OpenSim great – out of the mouth of babes . . . at i live in science land

  10. stiofain mactomais
    March 16, 2012

    shameless plug !!!! http://forums.osgrid.org/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=3993
    join us on osgrid for the opening of the sunken titanic built in rl belfast and 100 yrs
    later built in virtual belfast

    • metaversemina
      March 16, 2012

      Sweet!! I can’t wait. 🙂 If anyone is taking photos in advance you can send me some if you’d like and I’ll write a special post for it!

      • stiofain mactomais
        March 16, 2012

        hi mina
        i put up a zip of photos of the virtual titanic here
        http://3dcolab.com/titanic/
        would be great if u wrote about it the opening is tomoro 17th march – st patricks day 9pm to 12 pm gmt 2 to 5 pst featuring joaquin gustav guitar from argentina truelie ellen folk noir self penned dark ballads my rare irish vinyl collection and more….
        it is in virtual belfast on osgrid in the belfastirelandharbor region

  11. Mera
    March 16, 2012

    Great! I also avoid forums normally (I follow Mainland in SL) but i might look into this. Its a great idea, but for me it´s also a matter of time. It takes too much time to follow all forums and stuff even though I would like to =(

    Your link had disappeared in my blog but I fixed that now! =)
    Thanks again for the lovely dress and the anti-bullying shirt!! ❤

    • metaversemina
      March 16, 2012

      Thank you Mera and you are most welcome for the pressies! It was wonderful to see you yesterday. ❤ To me, using the forums to showcase our OSG wares just makes good sense. It's a central location that everyone has access to. I'm not one for debating or "socializing" on forums, but I do think they can be an wonderful source of information.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 14, 2012 by in OpenSim, OSgrid and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

Randomness on the Twittersphere

