metaversemina

Just another virtual world traveler… though quirkier than most!

Oh Crap! Not another Virtual World Blogger. Yep!

Passion, I’ve got it in spades. When I become passionate about something, I’ve gotta write about it. It’s kind of a thing with me, ya know? My current passion is exploring the Opensim world of OSgrid and the warm, talented and damn smart people who inhabit it.

It all started with a Skype conversation with my friend Linda Kellie. Linda has known me in various worlds and avatars and has always been encouraging in my various endeavors. She speaks so highly of OSG and it’s people, that I just had to hop over and pay her a visit. That visit turned into her carving out a little parcel for me to play on (graciously without cost), and for the past week I have visited there nearly every day.

There are so many things that stood out for me on my visits, so I will try and list them all.

Login Point Atmosphere

While your initial introduction and greeting at the OSG login area doesn’t rival the warmth of say Inworldz, with their wonderful mentor system, don’t let that deter you. There are usually people hanging out there and if you just strike up a conversation, most of them are more than happy to chit chat and offer guidance. I was fortunate enough to have Linda to introduce me to people, so if you are the shy sort and don’t fancy starting a conversation w/a stranger… go ahead and hit me up! I will be happy to chat and share what I’ve learned so far!

OSGrid Landing Area

Creativity

The first few days were spent meeting people and staring in awe at the builds, regions and communities that unlimited potential and unrestricted resources can inspire. In future blogs I will talk in depth about different regions you can visit and explore to see some of that homegrown creativity for yourself!

I was so inspired that I decided to try my hand at creating a home all by myself! I used textures and sculpts created by Linda Kellie ( you can get them here). It’s still a work in progress but it’s not turning out too bad!

OSG Grid Mina's Build

Generosity

I can hardly believe how kind and generous people are on OSGrid! Most people share their creations freely, contributing to the growth and beautification of the grid that way. Linda provides all of her creations, textures, OARs, sculpts, clothing, etc. full perm, no licensing restrictions, and absolutely free. I can also tell you that she is tickled pink when people show her how they have used her items in their builds. One gets the feeling that inspiring creativity is payment enough for her.

Another extremely generous lady I met was Mona Lawksley. Mona is the owner of White Pines Estates. She provides full regions, free of cost, to OSG residents who are unable to afford a region, or are not able to host their own regions on their computer. When I thanked her for the gracious gift of a region (until I learn how to hook up my own) she said “it’s my way of giving back to the grid.” And that just about sums up the philosophy of most people I’ve met.

I have a feeling I’m really going to enjoy the time I spend on OSgrid for a good long while. Stay tuned!

20 comments on “Oh Crap! Not another Virtual World Blogger. Yep!

  1. Linda Kellie
    February 25, 2012

    I am so glad you joined us on OSGrid! Your house is amazing. As you know, it’s my dream house! You’re such a upbeat person with so much warmth. I am glad you are in life.
    HUGS,
    Linda

    • metaversemina
      February 26, 2012

      Aww Thank you Linda! Likewise. Thank you for all of the goodies, the help and, most of all, your friendship!

  2. Fu Barr
    February 26, 2012

    Hey there Mina 🙂 looks like your housey is coming along nicely – congrats!

  3. Pingback: Oh Crap! Not another Virtual World Blogger. Yep! | Metaverse NewsWatch | Scoop.it

  4. Gaga
    February 26, 2012

    Hi, Welcome to OSgrid and good article!

    Gaga

  5. Gwenette Writer Sinclair
    February 26, 2012

    Happy building . . . your home looks beautiful:)

    • metaversemina
      February 26, 2012

      Thank you so much!! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by my little blog.

  6. Galen
    February 26, 2012

    A very nice blog with very nice words 🙂 Welcome to OSgrid

    • metaversemina
      February 27, 2012

      Thank you so much Galen. I look forward to meeting you in world sometime!

  7. enerhax
    February 27, 2012

    yes, more blogs please! =D

    everyone has different perspectives and that means a wealth of things to learn from one another!

    \o/ Mina! =)

    • metaversemina
      February 27, 2012

      Aww thank yo Ener! I’m excited to be joining the metaverse blogosphere!

  8. John "Pathfinder" Lester
    February 27, 2012

    Nice writing, Mina. It’s always great to see new people sharing their first experiences in new worlds. 🙂

    • metaversemina
      February 28, 2012

      Thank you so much Pathfinder. It’s wonderful how a change of scenery can reinvigorate your creativity, isn’t it? 🙂 Thank you for stopping by my little blogspace!

  9. Mera
    February 28, 2012

    welcome to OsGrid! you are already on my friendlist so I hope to see you soon! Huggles!!! xxxxxx

  10. Mera
    February 28, 2012

    And i need to add, great posting! And i really like your theme in WordPress, very exciting 🙂

  11. Monerda
    February 28, 2012

    Welcome to OS grid! I look forward to meeting you there soon!

    • metaversemina
      February 28, 2012

      Thank you Monderda! I look forward to meeting you as well 🙂

      • Monerda
        February 28, 2012

        *smiles* and thanks for “following” me (always think of stalkers with that term 😛 ) lol

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 25, 2012 by in OSgrid and tagged , , , , , .

Navigation

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

Randomness on the Twittersphere

